TWCL Forum Index TWCL
Forums for The Webcomic List

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Software Advice For a New Artist

View previous topic :: View next topic  
FieldDoc

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 12:52 am    Post subject: Software Advice For a New Artist Reply with quote

Hi all,

I'm a doctor by profession but like to draw simple line art comics in my free time - all on old-fashioned paper.

I'm a proficient web designer and a Mac user. I'm just looking for some pointers as to how people move from drawing on paper with pens to drawing on a Mac. What software to people use? Do you use the mouse or tablets, etc?

Are there any guides on this topic?

Thanks in advance,
MindChimera

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I don't use a Mac so I can't give you specifics there, but I have opinions that should branch across operating systems.

Some people will sketch their stuff on paper, ink it, then scan it into their computer. I don't know all the technical details on this, so maybe one of those people can drop by. But do know that it IS an option to work completely traditionally and then put it online. That may be the way you want to go if you aren't looking for a lot of special effects.

I do most of my work digitally, so that's what I'll share.

For drawing software, I recommend Manga Studio. It's drawing software that's comic-oriented. There's the regular version and an Ex version, but the trial is for the regular version. You may not need all the bells and whistles the Ex version has if you're just starting with digital art, anyway. You can always upgrade the basic to Ex later if you change your mind, so it's pretty much better to start with the basic version.